New Member Spotlight: Allison Richards

1)      What is your background in psychology (e.g., education)?

I received a bachelor’s degree from Middlebury College (Vermont) with a major in psychology. I then completed a master’s degree from the counseling and student personnel psychology program at the University of Minnesota. I am currently working on my doctoral degree in counseling psychology at the University of Iowa.

2)      Describe your current occupation and any involvement in the Minnesota Psychological Association if applicable.

I am currently a graduate student in counseling psychology and will be applying for my predoctoral internship this fall, for the upcoming 2014-2015 year. I am most interested in applied clinical work, and am particularly interested in working with college students (preferably in a college counseling center).

3)      What inspired you to pursue a degree in psychology?

From the early days of my introduction to psychology class during my first semester of college, I knew that I wanted a career within the field of psychology. I have always been attracted to human service jobs, especially those that allow you to be in meaningful relationships with other individuals. It wasn’t until after college through multiple experiences, conversations with mentors and self-reflection, that I found the specialty of counseling psychology to be a perfect fit for me.

4)      Why did you join the Minnesota Psychological Association?

I am hoping to move back to my hometown of Minneapolis within the next one to two years and joined MPA as a way to get connected and learn more about practicing in the state of Minnesota.

5)      What do you hope to learn/gain from your new membership?

I hope to meet psychologists (and hopefully some psychologists still in training) through my membership to learn more about working in Minnesota. I am especially interested in learning about post-doc opportunities and licensing laws/regulations that are specific to Minnesota.

6)      Any outside hobbies/interests you do not mind sharing?

I love to spend time with my family and friends, especially my life partner, one-year-old daughter, dog and cat. I also enjoy having down time for myself, especially spent outside going for a run or doing yoga. My family also loves to travel and experience new places and people.

Share this post:

Comments on "New Member Spotlight: Allison Richards"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment