Click here to register!

Click here to view the full convention schedule.

Click here to view the registration brochure which includes a PDF summary of the schedule.

Click here to view the poster presentation schedule.


Kirk Strosahl, Ph.D., LP will speak on the growing maze of acceptance based behavioral therapies, and will provocatively address whether we have the same wine in different bottles. Dr. Strosahl, a national leader in psychotherapy practice, is one of the founders of Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT) and has consulted, trained, published, and lectured widely on ACT for many years.
Sue Abderholden, MPH will address the importance of engaging with clients and their families to improve outcomes. Ms. Abderholden is the Executive Director of National Alliance on Mental Illness Minnesota (NAMI). Ms. Abderholden is a passionate advocate for people with mental illness both nationally and in our state. She is recognized as the leading mental health advocate in the State of Minnesota.


Get involved today by exhibiting at or being a sponsor of the 82nd Annual Convention. As an exhibitor or sponsor, you will receive recognition throughout the convention and visibility to over 250 attendees. Our exhibit space sells out every year so be sure to sign up right away!

View sponsorship opportunities here

View exhibitor information here


We have secured a select number of discounted hotel rooms for MPA Convention attendees at the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West, at $119/night for a single or double. Rooms are available at this rate until they sell out or until March 19, 2018, whichever comes first.

To make your hotel reservation online, please click here. You may also call the hotel at (763) 559-6600 and indicate you are with the MPA Convention.

Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West
3131 Campus Drive
Plymouth, MN 55441
(763) 559-6600


Do you know someone who is doing excellent work in psychology? Are you yourself making outstanding contributions to the field? Nominate yourself or a colleague for an MPA professional award. Award winners will be recognized at the Convention on Saturday, April 21. Click here to view the awards.


Co-Chairs: Bruce L. Bobbitt, Ph.D., LP (MPA President) and Mary Louise Stevens, Ph.D., LP
Denny Anderson, M.A., LP
Stefanie Bauer, Psy.D., LP
Heidi Bausch, M.A.
Steve Gilbert, Ph.D., ABPP, LP
Susan Rydell, Ph.D., LP
Matthew Syzdek, Ph.D., LP, M.B.A.


Diversity Statement

The Minnesota Psychological Association actively encourages the participation of all psychologists regardless of age, creed, race, ethnic background, gender, socio-economic status, region of residence, physical or mental status, political beliefs, religious or spiritual affiliation, and sexual or affectional orientation.Although we are an organization of individuals from diverse cultures and backgrounds, the Minnesota Psychological Association also recognizes our core unifying identities as Psychologists who practice in America. We also recognize that we may hold unintentional attitudes and beliefs that influence our perceptions of and interactions with others. Within this context of unity and self-exploration, we are committed to increasing our sensitivity to all aspects of diversity as well as our knowledge and appreciation of the unique qualities of different cultures and backgrounds.We aspire to becoming alert to aspects of diversity, previously unseen or unacknowledged in our culture. In this spirit, we are committed to collaborating with multicultural groups to combat racism and other forms of prejudice as we seek to promote diversity in our society. To this end, we are dedicated to increasing our multicultural competencies and effectiveness as educators, researchers, administrators, policy makers, and practitioners.